Go to the Light!

Posted: April 13, 2011 in glasses
Tags: ,
“Megane Danshi”
part 1: Satoshi Hiwatari

spoilers abound. you have been warned.

Satoshi Hiwatari

Satoshi (Hikari) Hiwatari

The first Megane Danshi I was exposed to, and subsequently began my fandom, is none other than Satoshi (Hikari) Hiwatari from D.N.Angel. It’s been quite a few years since I watched this anime, even though I own it, and though I am extremely tempted to watch it again, I have far more new anime on my list to watch.

Satoshi was my “first love” when it came to glasses wearing characters, and the light (pardon the pun, “hikari” means “light” in Japanese, in case you didn’t know) that led me to megane danshi. Coupled with his extraordinary intellect, his story is heartwrenching and it drew me in.

He graduated from college at 13 and is the police commander, adopted by the Hiwatari family. His adoptive father is a huge jerk (something I relate to) and uses Satoshi for his own motives. Then, insert Krad, Satoshi’s alter ego, and you really can’t help but feel for him. My heart ached whenever Krad forced himself out, causing Satoshi a great deal of pain, especially when Risa bears witness to it. Then, by the time he was basically trying to commit suicide, I was screaming at my TV with a face full of tears.

But things finally turned around for him. Instead of continuing to be sworn enemies as rival families (and continuing the stress coaster he was on), Satoshi ended as best friends with Daisuke (and some schools of thought claim more than that, but I’m still standing by Daisuke and Riku). Happy endings abound for Satoshi, FINALLY, and he even caught the glance of Risa. Win!

He also shares voices with Kaoru Hitachiin from Ouran Highschool Host Club (my favorite anime of all time) via Greg Ayers. Double win!

Leave a Reply

