Dance, ninja, dance!

Posted: June 27, 2011 in pico
Tags:

My brother’s fiance, Mayumi, who happens to be from Japan, got me addicted to this game called Pico (pico.ameba.net). Pico is the English version of the Japanese game Piggu, which I watched her play. In turn, I got my twin sister addicted to the game as well.

Me, Alicia, and Mayumi

Me, Alicia, and Mayumi

It’s a great little game. You go around and give people “props” which gives them currency called “gummi’s.” Everything is in real time, you can talk to random people in a variety of sets or parks. You get a house that you can decorate, and you can buy blocks to create stairs and new floors. The only downside that I see is that a great deal of stuff takes “gold” which you have to buy using real money. To make up for that, there are tokens you can earn if you log in every day for 2 weeks, or randomly in Gotch machines. These tokens can be used on most items that you can’t pay for with gummis. Aside from that, you can live a pretty cushy life in Pico if you know how to farm for other people’s props and where to go to get fabulous stuff.

Here’s my routine to get maximum gummis from props and rings. Pick a park. I usually go for the Japanese park, because it’s usually crowded and it’s Japanese, of course. Pick an empty spot on a bench. Know a dance move? Throw it out there every minute or so while you’re sitting. It will catch people’s attention. In between dance moves, props everyone else in the room. Then you wait. I usually go about 15 props before I change rooms. Not everyone is going to props you.

To increase your chances of being propped, here’s a couple of tips:

  • Stand still. It’s hard to click on a moving target.
  • Don’t ask to be propped. Reverse psychology here. If you’re begging, some people make it a point to not props.
  • Prop everyone. Not everyone is going to do this in every room, but most generally repay a props on them.

Then after you’ve managed your cap (you won’t get anymore gummis after 30 props), I go through my list of people who props’d me, and I ring all of their houses. About half of them generally return the ring on my house. You cap out on rings at 20.

My character, Odoriko-chan

My character, Odoriko-chan, dancing the Japanese bonfire dance

Other ways to make gummis:

  • See food in people’s houses when you ring? Eat it! You can make up to 200 gummis a day just by eating food. Buying it yourself and eating it defeats the purpose. If you have friends in your room, share food in your inventory, and they’ll most likely be willing to do the same. It’s also a great way to make friends.
  • Change your clothes. Or just hit the closet button and the save button, and you’ll earn another 50 gummis.
  • Play games. There’s four games to choose from: Pirate Rock, Paper, Scissors, Math Challenge, Reversi, and Card Match. When you play with friends, it’s pretty fun. Playing with strangers is pretty frustrating, especially when they always leave after you kick their butt once.
  • Earn gummis to get your gummi bar to 500 and 1000. You get extra gummis to hit those marks. Star challenges and daily scratch don’t count towards it.
  • Do the star challenges. There’s a blue book in the top, right corner. Click on it and peruse. See if there’s anything you can work on.

One of the best things to do to get decent items is to play the Gotcha machines. Most sets that you can “travel” to have a Gotch machine you can play. I usually play the one in Nakamise St. (the Japanese Gotcha machine) or the one in Riverside Suzhou (the Chinese one). They are 100 gummis per play, but they can be worth it. Generally you’ll rack up a fair bit of food to share, but you also get special blocks, items, and clothes that you can’t buy at any of the stores. You also have the chance of randomly getting tokens, which is really spiffy.

the ninja outfit

the legendary ninja outfit, complete with my signature leopard heels 😀

There are some places that you can travel that will open up quest chains for people. The Edo area Ninja quests are by far the most popular. They are repeatable quests in which you collect a full set of Edo era treasures to get yourself an awesome ninja suit. I just got mine, literally right before I wrote this post.

At first, if you don’t know what you’re doing or what to look for, the ninja quests can be really confusing and hard to do. After some research and my own experience, I was able to uncover some truths. But, I’ll save all my ninja skills for a later post.

All in all, Pico is a great place to play. My favorite part is meeting people from all over the world. My twin sis, Mayumi, and I have met a guy from Japan who’s English isn’t so great. My Japanese is abysmal, and so is my sister’s, but having Mayumi helps bridge the language gap a bit. On days when Mayumi isn’t there to help us, Alicia and I resort to her Japanese dictionary and my skills with Google Translate. It’s fun, because we’re all trying to communicate. Most of the time we communicate by leaving each other food and balloons in each other’s rooms.

Happy Pico-ing everyone!

Leave a Reply

