Two out of three ain’t bad

Posted: September 18, 2011 in food
Tags: , ,

For my day off, I decided to try out a few staple Japanese recipes. The onigiri was easier than I thought, the tamagoyaki was a little rough, but still successful, and the mochi was a total mess. Haha. Here’s what happened.

Onigiri

Onigiri

1. おにぎり:onigiri

For these onigiri, I stuffed them with edamame and soy sauce soaked tuna. They were actually pretty easy to make, so long as you keep your hands ridiculously clean and damp. If you properly rinse and soak the rice before cooking, it sticks so easily to everything. And I mean, everything. I was pulling pieces of rice off my shirt at one point that seemed to be stuck to me with superglue.

I was dumbfounded at how much salt I was told to use in this recipe. Every time I was supposed to mold rice, the recipe said to dampen my hands and sprinkle salt onto them. I also had to put soy sauce in the tuna and salt the edamame for the filling, as well as salt the rice on top after I finished. As crazy as it is, they weren’t salty at all, and I probably could have used more. So for those of you venturing into this, yes, it seems like a lot of salt, but it’s not!

Mochi and Strawberries

Mochi and Strawberries

2. もちといちご: mochi and strawberry

This was probably the simplest recipe out of the three, and yet I managed to botch this one. While, yes, the picture looks pretty, the mochi didn’t set up completely right, so they’re a little mushy. A couple turned out ok, but I think what went wrong is that I didn’t have the mochi “batter” in the microwave long enough.

I’ll be trying these again when Mayumi gets here next week. She might be able to help me with the consistency a little more, and perhaps try it with fruit punch. I’m not completely sure how that works, but we’ll see. I’d also like to make dango eventually, I just need to get ahold of the flavorings for it. Mmm macha. I did stumble upon a black sesame seed cookie recipe with macha icing that I am also itching to try.

Tamagayoki

Tamagoyaki

3. たまごやき: tamagoyaki

One word for this, おいしい (delicious)! Pretty much, it’s a sweet and salty omelet, and it’s straight up awesome. The technique to making it is a little hard to get, but as long as you cook it, it’ll taste the same. Literally, the egg mixture (with soy sauce, mirin, and sugar) is spooned a little at a time into a pan and rolled once it cooks solid. The process repeats until there’s no more mixture, and what’s left is a layered, rolled egg.

My two year old niece even loved this, and I could eat this for breakfast every day, or with rice for dinner. As far as egg dishes, next I’d like to try “omurice,” a featured dish in the Japanese drama Tumbling. Pretty much, it’s a combination of rice and an omelet.

So that’s that, my first adventure with Japanese cooking. Is it sad that I feel far more confident cooking Japanese food than American? For someone who can’t cook, these dishes came out really well, except the mochi, but that should be an easy fix. All recipes that I tried here were from JustHungry.com.

Comments
  1. Numi says:

    wow, たまごやきis awesome! The shape is beautiful!! Good job! And I totally want the おにぎり with the Hello Kitty べんとうbox!! Right now!!! The もち looks good! Ahh, I need Japanese food right now…

Leave a Reply

