Of cosplayer’s past

Posted: September 22, 2011 in cosplay
Tags: , , ,
Cheshire Cat

Cheshire Cat

I’ve been meaning to do this post for awhile now, and all this looking at Halloween costumes reminded me of it. So here it is! Cosplay has been a hobby of mine for a long time, but due to being a student for the majority of those years, the time and money involved had been slim.

I’d always been in love with the stage, if not for theater, then for dance. I was almost a theater major, then I almost minored in it, but I had been talked out of it both times. Theater kids get no where, people used to tell me. Dressing up and being other people was always brilliantly fascinating to me, being immersed in a whole different persona. But I’m rambling now, so I’ll return to the cosplay.

The earliest one is me and my twin sister ready for the duct tape ball. I was a senior in high school, I believe, oh six years ago? Man, I’m getting old. I’m Cheshire Cat, and yes, the dress is entirely made out of duct tape, tail and all. There’s a bit of fishing line that runs from the back of the dress to the tail to keep it off the floor; it’s a shear bit of magic, pun intended. I went with my friend who dressed as the mad hatter, and he sported a gigantic duct tape hat and tie. I really wish I had a picture of it, but alas, I don’t. Cool thing is, we won the costume contest (the theme was story book characters). My twin sis is dressed as Galadriel from Lord of the Rings, and only her jewelry is duct tape. Boring!

Temari

Temari

When I got into college, I really got into anime. Thus, the anime cosplaying began. I was really into Naruto at the time, long before Shippuden was even talked about, and my favorite character was (and still is) Temari.

Now, need I remind you, I was on a college kid budget and time frame. I know the costume is sub par, but for a triple X t-shirt, a pair of fishnets, a wad of red cloth, paper, and a ton of safety pins, I think this rocked pretty hardcore. My hair was also a little too long, and not blonde, to be Temari. I do still have this costume, as well as a real sand ninja head band (the one I wore at the time was silver paint pen on piece of black fabric). So if I were to do this again, I’d totally invest in a wig, as my hair is now double the length that’s in the picture. And I’d go for a larger, legitimate fan, as well as get/make the actual ninja footwear. I think I got the eyeliner pretty spot on, though, if I do say so myself. This picture was from Halloween 2006.

The following year, I became an RA (resident assistant/advisor) and fell into a group of friends who were all video game nerds, and they got me into Guitar Hero 2. Those were the good days.

Judy Nails

Judy Nails

So naturally, my next cosplay for Halloween 2007 was my favorite character from the game, Judy Nails. The particular outfit I chose was her “Snakes” ensamble. I sprayed my hair black and pink, and tried to frizz out the pigtails a bit, but the humidity won that battle. Again, this was another college budget costume. The skirt was on clearance at Hot Topic, because there was a small hole in it. My top is a combination of a red walmart sweater and white tank top, both of which had been meticulously cut up and reassembled by me. Again, lots of safety pins. The boots were a stroke of luck. I happened into a Salvation Army, and there they were, six bucks. The accessories and belt I already owned.

The guy in the picture here is my friend and hero, Jeremy Merry, as Axel Steel. We donned wireless guitars with our get-ups and were a huge hit at the campus Halloween party. We also had two other friends dressed as Wayne and Garth from Wayne’s World who followed us around screaming “We’re not worthy!”

Sakura Haruno

Sakura Haruno

Sadly, Jeremy passed away the following October, just 3 days shy of Halloween 2008. January 2008, he had relapsed for the third time with Leukemia, and this time he never recovered. I had planned on cosplaying as Winry Rockbell from Full Metal Alchemist and had the full outfit assembled, but calling hours were on Halloween.

In 2009, I shelled out enough money for a dress and wig to be Sakura Haruno from Naruto. I wasn’t going to dress up, but a class of mine was participating in a Halloween event with a local elementary school. Sadly, only one kid in the whole group knew who I was. I guess not many parents introduce their kids to the epicness that is anime at such a young age. What a tragedy.

Last year I was a ballerina ninja (have you seen my branding on my portfolio site?). But this year, Im back into full cosplay mode. Currently, though, I’m caught between Princess Toadstool and Lara Croft. I’m leaning more toward Tomb Raider, as my hair is super extra long and perfect for her long braid. A picture will definitely follow, so keep a look out.

Leave a Reply

